Programme area

The new programme area covers a total of 1.083.945 km2 and consists of the same 14 countries that participate in the Danube Transnational Programme 2014-2020.

In the EU Member States, the programme area covers Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia. The neighboring countries that belong to the programme area are Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, and Ukraine.

Compared to other EU macro-regions, the Danube region has the highest number of countries – and at the same time the highest share of border regions. Apart from Germany and Ukraine, all states are part of the programme area with their entire territory, accounting all together for 70 NUTS2 regions. 



Programme co-funded by European Union funds (ERDF, IPA, ENI)